Elections to the European Parliament
June 2009

results in central Europe and S-E England

Background information

The European Parliament

The European Parliament passes laws that affect everyone in the European Union. It deals with issues such as the environment; human rights; consumer rights; and economic development. Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) have the power to change, approve or reject new European laws.

Britain in the European Parliament

There are 12 European electoral regions that make up the UK, with each region having between three and ten MEPs. Each group of MEPs is responsible for representing the whole of that region. Click here to download a map and list of the areas in each UK constituency (PDF).


Voting system favours political parties

The electoral system for England, Scotland and Wales will use closed regional lists. Under this arrangement most political parties put forward a list of candidates within each electoral region, listing them in order of priority (hence "regional list").

However, unlike Westminster and local elections, voters will only be allowed to choose the party they wish to vote for, not the individual candidate (hence the expression "closed" list). The only time it's possible to vote for an individual is where independent candidates unaffiliated to any political party are standing.

After the vote has been counted, the total number of seats within a given region is distributed between the political parties according to the share of the overall vote they win.  Only candidates placed at the top of a party's list have a realistic chance of becoming an MEP, the number elected from the list reflecting the strength of support in the election vote.

Only in Northern Ireland, where there is a different voting system, would you be allowed to vote for individual candidates in order of preference.

The South-East region has 10 seats.

Click on an MEP name
for their personal websites.

Current MEPs representing
the South-East

Marta Andreassen
Richard Ashworth
Catherine Bearder
Sharon Bowles
Nirj Deva
James Elles
Nigel Farage
Daniel Hannan
Caroline Lucas
Peter Skinner

MEPs from the 4 June 2009 elections took up their mandates on 14 July 2009.

Results from the South-East region
Results from 10 central European countries
Back to home page