of the European Movement Sussex branch

The European Movement

Encouraging local communities in Britain to play a leading role in a strong, democratic and reformed Europe.  The European Movement was formed originally in 1948 by Sir Winston Churchill.  The movement has no political party affiliation.

Sussex branch

Click here for a form to join

The Sussex branch is one of ten in the south-east, and covers both East and West Sussex - there is also a separate branch set up in Eastbourne


Chair: Kate Evans
Secretary: Betty Rider



Approved 1 December 2003

1 Name: the Branch shall be called the Sussex Branch of the European Movement (EM). It shall operate in accordance with the European Movement of the United Kingdom (EM/UK), and comply with the EM/UK's constitutional provisions.
2 The objectives of the Branch shall be:
a) to promote awareness both of the benefits of the UK's membership of the European Union and of wider European issues.
b) to contribute to the debate on the political, social, economic and cultural policies of the European Union.
3 Individual Membership shall be open to those who support the objectives of the Branch. Members shall pay the annual subscription as recommended by EM/UK. There shall be provision for Corporate Membership at the discretion of the Committee, in consultation with EM/UK.
4 There shall be 3 Branch Officers: a Chairperson, a Secretary and a Treasurer. Nominations for the Officers' posts and Committee membership for the following year shall be received in writing by the Secretary at least 7 days before the AGM.
5 A Committee shall carry out Branch business between AGMs. It shall consist of the Officers and up to 9 other members elected at the AGM. If required, vacancies for Officers may be filled by substitution agreed by the Committee from amongst its members. The Committee shall have the power of co-option. The quorum for the Committee shall be 5, including at least 2 Officers; if required the Chairperson shall have a casting vote.
6 The management of the Branch's funds shall comply with standard current financial practice.
7 An Annual General Meeting (AGM) shall be held at a time to be decided by the Committee.
i) All current paid-up members of the Branch shall be notified of the arrangements for an AGM at least 14 days in advance.
ii) All such members present at the AGM shall be entitled to vote.
iii) The quorum for voting at all General Meetings shall be 10 members, including at least 2 of the Officers.
iv) If necessary the Chairperson shall have a casting vote
v) At the AGM members shall:
    a) receive a report from the Chairperson.
    b) adopt an annual statement of accounts.
    c) elect Officers and Committee members for the coming year.
    d) appoint or re-affirm an auditor.
    e) conduct any other business notified at least 7 days in advance.
8 An Extraordinary General Meeting (EGM) may be held by decision of the Committee, or at the written request of at least 10 paid-up Branch members. Members shall have at least 14 days notice of an EGM.
9 Amendment of the Constitution may be made only at an AGM, or an EGM called for that purpose, with the voting approval of at least two thirds of the Branch members present.
10 If the Branch's activities cease, any remaining funds shall be disposed of by decision of a final AGM or EGM. If such a meeting cannot be held or is inquorate, funds shall be transferred to EM/UK. If EM/UK's activities cease, the Branch shall continue its operations until the constitutional position is regularised.

home page