The European Movement

The European Movement was founded at the 1948 Congress of Europe by Sir Winston Churchill and other post-war leaders to bring about the economic, monetary and political union of Europe. In the 1950s and 1960s, the all-party European Movement led the “Britain in Europe” campaign and organised the massive “yes” vote in the 1975 referendum. It is an international organisation with offices throughout Europe which plays a significant role in both informing the general public throughout Europe about the process of integration and in lobbying for greater European unity.

Click here to see the European Movement Constitution

The annual subscription for Eastbourne branch local members is £10, due on the 1st January

Eastbourne branch


Chairman:   Mr Robin James
59 Rowan Ave, Eastbourne  BN22 0RX
01323 503807
Vice-Chairman:   Dr David Cooke, OBE 01323 727851
Secretary:   Vicky Rosenthal
Treasurer:   Mrs Patricia Lambert 01323 734457
Membership Secretary:
Mr Hilmar Rosenthal
4 Tovey Close, Eastbourne BN21 2TJ
01323 645702


Mrs Cynthia Aspen Mr Hugh Ball
Dr Peter Fenwick OBE Mrs Elizabeth Gregory
Mrs Patricia King

Programme for 2013

The evening starts at 7.25 pm with a short update on European affairs, followed by dinner which is served promptly at 7.30 pm. After dinner there is an address by a visiting speaker, ending with questions and discussion.
Members who wish to attend the address and discussion only may join at 8.40 pm.

It is essential to book in advance and not later than the Sunday prior to the meeting.

To book, please contact Elizabeth Gregory, 01323 738995.
Please note that payment is by cheque only.

Programme 2013

Meetings are held on a Thursday evening at the Hydro Hotel, Eastbourne.
Please be seated at your tables by 7.25 pm.

Thursday 17th January Prof. Tim Bale, Queen Mary University of London
Wednesday 6th March Daniel Ottolenghi,
European Investment Bank.
How the EIV supports the Growth of Jobs in Europe
Thursday 11th April The Georgian Ambassador
Thursday 23rd May Dr Chris Tomlinson
Saturday 22nd June Croquet and afternoon tea at Saffrons Croquet Club
Thursday 27th June Dr Cecile Hoareau
Thursday 25th July Dr Petros Fassoulas Chairman of the European Movement, UK
Thursday 19th September Dr Leslie Morrison Central European Time – the Pros and Cons for Britain
Thursday 17th October Annual General Meeting And Open Discussion
Thursday 14th November The French Ambassador
Friday 13th December Norman Baker MP