The European Movement

The European Movement was founded at the 1948 Congress of Europe by Sir Winston Churchill and other post-war leaders to bring about the economic, monetary and political union of Europe. In the 1950s and 1960s, the all-party European Movement led the “Britain in Europe” campaign and organised the massive “yes” vote in the 1975 referendum. It is an international organisation with offices throughout Europe which plays a significant role in both informing the general public throughout Europe about the process of integration and in lobbying for greater European unity.

Click here to see the European Movement Constitution

The annual subscription for Eastbourne branch local members is £10, due on the 1st January

Eastbourne branch


Chairman:   Mr Robin James
59 Rowan Ave, Eastbourne  BN22 0RX
01323 503807
Vice-Chairman:   Dr David Cooke, OBE 01323 727851
Secretary:   Mrs Diane Stuart 01323 419692
Treasurer:   Mrs Patricia Lambert 01323 734457
Membership Secretary:
Mr Hilmar Rosenthal
4 Tovey Close, Eastbourne BN21 2TJ
01323 645702


Mrs Cynthia Aspen Mr Hugh Ball
Dr Peter Fenwick OBE Mrs Elizabeth Gregory
Mrs Patricia King

Programme for 2011

From 20th July, all monthly meetings will be held at The Hydro Hotel in Eastbourne. The evening starts at 7.25 pm with a short update on European affairs, followed by dinner which is served promptly at 7.30 pm. After dinner there is an address by a visiting speaker, ending with questions and discussion.
Members who wish to attend the address and discussion only may join at 8.40 pm.

It is essential to book in advance and not later than the Sunday prior to the meeting.

To book, please contact Elizabeth Gregory, 01323 738995. Please note that payment is by cheque only.

Programme 2011

Meetings from July will be held at the Hydro Hotel, Eastbourne.
Please be seated at your tables by 7.25 pm.

Wednesday 19th January Dr. Gary Wilton, Church of England Representative in Brussels
Wednesday 16th March His Excellency, The Belgian Ambassador
Wednesday 27th April Mr Tom Hinds of The National Farmers Union
Wednesday 18th May Dr. David Southwood of The European Space Agency
Wednesday 22nd June Mr Adam Fergusson, author of When Money Dies and Consultant on European Affairs
Wednesday 20th July Mr Ian Stewart of the British Council British Cultural Relations in Europe
Wednesday 7th September Mr Stephen Lloyd
Member of Parliament for Eastbourne
Wednesday 12th October 37th Annual General Meeting Followed by the Proudler Cup Debate
Wednesday 16th November His Excellency, The Croatian Ambassador
Wednesday 14th December
(please note change of date)
Guest of Honour: Lord Rennard Annual Reception and Dinner - Black Tie